Posted by: Q | May 16, 2007

1.5 day of playing

I promised you guys a walkthrough but my movies turned out to be 1.4 gigabyte of raw video. Im still finding some tool to encode this to a small file to post it on YouTube. If someone has a suggestion… please feel free to help me out in a comment.

Well, yesterday i unboxed the N800, iGo Stowaway Bluetooth keyboard and the Ora car charger. I will share my first impressions and experiences with ya’ll.

Starting up went without a problem. The Start-screen appeared and i tried to navigate the screen like i’m used to navigate in a Windows environment. It went pretty well actually. In the left corner you can find the title of the screen which you are viewing at that moment, accompanied with an arrow. Clicking this arrow brings you more options! Wow…

Actually this is really important to know. I will continue on this later.

Then i unpacked my iGO keyboard, which supposed to work (or not). I read some articles that it didn’t work at people’s N800. And for me too, it didn’t work eventually. I held the Left FN-button, the CTRL-button and Right FN-button to get in the “Find-Me” mode. My N800 found the keyboard. It asked to pair. I had to type a PIN-code. I tried to type the PIN-code on my keyboard but nothing worked… I tried and tried and tried and i already saw the doom scenario appearing: sending it back and beg for the Nokia Bluetooth keyboard. “No, no… I can fix this, i can do it!” So then i got an illuminating idea: lets type all the keycombinations again, the FN-keys and CTRL. I retyped the PIN and now it worked! Halleluja. So for you people out there, stay in “find-me” mode ok! The Stowaway definitely works with the N800!

After seeing the filebrowser, which is pretty decent, i decided to get online through my WiFi connection. I sat behind my desk and tried to find my router. Hmm.. i only found the neighbours’ router (a shop, Wap protected; that’s a pity) and a Hotspot, which costs me money. I’ll pass that. So then it searched automatically again and found my router; sort of: 1 stripe. I connected, after typing my WEP key, but it lost connection. That wasn’t a disgrace because im living in a 5 floor building (the router is on the ground floor). But i read on the net about excellent receive of the WiFi-chip so this disappointed me a bit.

I went down and tried again. It found another WiFi-router, unprotected. I decided to get online through this one *grin*. Hup, no problems, i went online, surfed a bit. Everything showed well. Although on some sites i had to browse horizontal to see some text… i think this was caused by all the banners. Soon enough i missed MSN-messenger, so i decided to find this. And from then on my irritation started…

Before i bought the N800 i found information on the net that a messenger program called “GAIM” is used to get online on the most populair IM-services, like AOL, Yahoo! and MSN. I went to the Maemo site and downloaded it straight onto my N800 continued by installing the executable. So far no problems. I started the program and typed my details like login/passw. to create an account. When i pressed the “Sign In” button it told me that there were no protocols selected. Ok… so where can i choose a protocol then? I searched in the program, but found nothing. Then i searched through Google, but also nothing. I just need the MSN-protocol!!!
One day later when my mood was tempered i tried again. This time i decided to download the 770 version, which i think is the same, but maybe it’s not. I also found a website of a blogger called Darla Mack. She saved my day actually! She explained that she had to search intensively as well to find out how it works. Just click her name to understand how to get it working.

She mentioned something about repositories and i saw this mentioned often on other websites too but had no clue what they were talking about. So this is very important to know: you need to know WHERE from you can download your applications. I had no clue!! Nowhere did i find information about a Maemo-Hackers site and downloads link which you need to write in your “catalog”. The catalog is a part in the N800 where your (new) programs/applications for 770 and N800 are manageable. You can search for new applications by refreshing the list.

After adding this Maemo-Hackers link and refreshing the list, the protocols appeared. Thanks again Darla, i’m really glad 🙂
I installed the MSN protocol and now the GAIM worked like a charm. It actually looks very similar to the real MSN-messenger.

I just want to point this out: for people like my brother or maybe business people who have heard that it’s possible to run MSN on a N800, it’s like a quest to find out how to get this working. If you dont have some knowledge about software or if you dont have too much time, it’s really a disappointment to use the N800.

Continuing with the FM radio app. I downloaded this from the catalog and tried to find it. But i couldn’t find it anywhere in my ‘start’-menu. So this afternoon i incidentally clicked the arrow button beside the “Start”-title and a menu appeared. I saw “applets” and clicked it. And what did i find there: the FM Radio app! All right. That was too much for me.

So my basic conclusion for the moment is that in simplicity it really lacks on some major issues, on a software base. But linux is open source, so perhaps they take this in a consideration to improve.

Something different now: when i connected my N800 to USB on my pc, it acted like a mass storage device. So that’s no problem. But then something came in my mind: with my 2003 PocketPC Ipaq i was able to surf the net connected through ActiveSync, on a Windows pc (of course). Why can’t i do this with an Internet Tablet? I find this at least strange. Maybe it’s possible, i’d like to hear this then! *Update – I read something about USB-host support which makes it possible to use the Tablet for internet sharing through your pc/laptop or for example using your laptops harddisc for storage. Just like the PSP is capable of doing this, why can’t the N800 do it?*
Also when it acts like mass storage, you cant access it through your N800! So once hooked up on your pc, the pc gets the privilege of being “Lord of your SD-card” or any storage card you use.

So for the moment MSN-messenger works, the FM radio app works, i even found an app to make pictures (because this wasn’t possible in the past) and that works as well. I also tried to get Orb working, which works for 80%, but i will continue on this tomorrow. I will also try to get email working and tell you guys about this tomorrow.

Goedenacht (Goodnight in Dutch)

Responses

  1. hey there Q 😉

    cool blog, N800 looks nice, maybe when it comes down in price i’ll end up getting one! i’ll have to stick to my DS in the meantime.

    regards,
    philip


Leave a Reply

Categories

